Intellectual property management

MAINTAINING YOUR TRADEMARKS

Monitoring legal infringements

How do I prevent third parties from registering identical or similar trademarks?
Can I take legal action against younger trademarks?
Is domain monitoring an option?
Do I have to renew my trademarks personally?

If you have invested in trademarks for your product or company name, you should look after them. Because the entire meaning and purpose of building a brand is above all to distinguish your company and point to a certain level of quality. The recognition effect plays a key role in this. For this reason, it makes sense to monitor trademarks for identical or similar registrations as well as any legal infringements. In addition, your trademarks must be renewed in good time every ten years.

The goal of effective
intellectual property management

The aim is to prevent the registration and/or use of identical or similar trademarks in the same or similar fields of activity. At Klinger & Kollegen we offer a wide range services in this context, including monitoring of trademark collisions and domains.

Trademark collision monitoring involves checking new trademark registrations of goods and/or services in the same or a similar fields of activity to determine whether they are identical or similar to the registered trademark. This enables the early detection of potential competitors and the lodging of an objection to the new trademark.

Lodging an objection in this way is shorter, less complicated and less expensive than legal action. Depending on your requirements, we offer monitoring throughout Germany, Europe or worldwide. When it comes to trademark collision monitoring, at Klinger & Kollegen we work with an experienced provider of monitoring services, pre-selecting a list of younger trademarks which could potentially be problematic. Thanks to this screening process, you will only be informed of trademark applications which are actually relevant to you. You can then decide for yourself whether and how to proceed.

In addition to filing an objection, there is often the option to negotiate a coexistence agreement with the trademark applicant. This has the advantage of being able to determine the younger trademark’s scope of the use with future effect, thus avoiding contentious disputes in court.

Since the importance of the Internet is increasing and trademark infringements are occurring more and more frequently in this area, domain monitoring is also a useful tool, as domain names can also infringe trademarks. It is therefore particularly important to monitor the registration of identical or similar domains. If a legal infringement is detected, depending on the domain ending, the nest step may involve sending the domain owner a warning, writing to the provider, or initiating arbitration proceedings.

Regardless of this, at Klinger & Kollegen we will of course also take care of renewing your trademark. Before the extension period expires, we will inform you in a timely manner of the costs incurred, and will pay the fees on your behalf (ourselves within Germany or through colleagues abroad). You don’t have to worry about a thing.

How does intellectual property management work?

=

Step 1

Set up trademark collision monitoring to stay abreast of the registration of identical or similar trademarks.

=

Step 2

Decide for yourself whether and how you want to take action against a younger trademark.

=

Step 3

Set up domain monitoring to identify trademark infringements on the Internet at an early stage.

=

Step 4

Leave the renewal of your trademarks to Klinger & Kollegen. As your reliable legal representatives, we will renew your trademarks at the relevant offices.

Get in touch with us.
We’re happy to help.

IP-Management

Markenschutz pflegen

Rechtsverletzungen überwachen

Wie vermeide ich die Eintragung identischer oder ähnlicher Marken Dritter?
Kann ich gegen jüngere Marken rechtlich vorgehen?
Ist eine Domainüberwachung möglich?
Muss ich mich um die Verlängerung der Marke selbst kümmern?

Wenn Sie in den Markenschutz Ihres Produkt- oder Firmennamens investiert haben, sollte dieser auch gepflegt werden. Denn Sinn und Zweck einer Marke ist vor allem, auf Ihr Unternehmen und auf eine bestimmte Qualität hinzuweisen. Der Wiedererkennungseffekt spielt dabei eine überragende Rolle. Aus diesem Grund ist es sinnvoll, Marken in Bezug auf identische bzw. ähnliche Anmeldungen sowie etwaige Rechtsverletzungen zu überwachen. Daneben muss die Marke alle zehn Jahre rechtzeitig verlängert werden.

Ziel eines guten
IP-Managements

Das Ziel ist es, die Eintragung und/oder Benutzung identischer oder ähnlicher Marken für den gleichen oder ähnlichen Tätigkeitsbereich zu vermeiden. In diesem Zusammenhang bieten Klinger & Kollegen verschiedene Dienstleistungen wie beispielsweise die Markenkollisions- und Domainüberwachung an.

Bei der Markenkollisionsüberwachung werden Neuanmeldungen dahingehend überprüft, ob eine Identität oder Ähnlichkeit mit der eingetragenen Marke im gleichen oder einem ähnlichen Waren- bzw. Dienstleistungsbereich gegeben ist. Auf diese Weise kann bereits sehr früh ein möglicher Konkurrent entdeckt und gegen die neue Marke mit Hilfe eines Widerspruchs vorgegangen werden.

Ein solches Widerspruchsverfahren ist kürzer, unkomplizierter und kostengünstiger als ein Klageverfahren. Je nach Wunsch bieten wir die Überwachung deutschlandweit, europaweit oder weltweit an. Bei der Markenkollisionsüberwachung arbeitet Klinger & Kollegen mit einem erfahrenen Überwachungsdienstleister zusammen und trifft eine Vorauswahl, welche jüngeren Marken überhaupt kritisch sein könnten. Demnach werden Ihnen nur tatsächlich relevante Markenanmeldungen berichtet und Sie entscheiden selbst, ob und wie dagegen vorgegangen werden soll.

Neben der Einlegung eines Widerspruchs besteht häufig die Option, mit der Markenanmelderin bzgl. einer Koexistenzvereinbarung zu verhandeln. Dies hat den Vorteil, dass auch der Umfang der Benutzung der jüngeren Marke für die Zukunft festgelegt und damit streitige Auseinandersetzungen vor Gericht vermieden werden können.

Nachdem die Bedeutung des Internets immer größer wird und in diesem Bereich auch immer häufiger Verletzungen von Markenrechten auftreten, ist daneben eine Domainüberwachung sinnvoll, da auch Domainnamen Marken verletzen können. Es ist daher besonders wichtig, die Registrierung identischer oder ähnlicher Domains zu beobachten. Wird eine Rechtsverletzung festgestellt, sollte je nach Domainendung der Domaininhaber abgemahnt, der Provider angeschrieben oder ein Schiedsverfahren durchgeführt werden.

Unabhängig davon kümmert sich Klinger & Kollegen selbstverständlich auch um die Verlängerung Ihrer Marke. Wir informieren Sie rechtzeitig vor Ablauf der Verlängerungsfrist bzgl. der anfallenden Kosten und nehmen die Gebührenzahlung selbst oder im Ausland über Kollegen für Sie vor. Sie müssen sich hierbei um nichts kümmern.

Wie geht IP-Management?

=

1. Schritt

Richten Sie eine Markenkollisionsüberwachung ein, um über die Eintragung identischer bzw. ähnlicher Marken informiert zu bleiben.

=

2. Schritt

Entscheiden Sie selbst, ob und wie Sie gegen eine jüngere Marke vorgehen möchten.

=

3. Schritt

Richten Sie eine Domainüberwachung ein, um Markenverletzungen im Internet frühzeitig zu erkennen.

=

4. Schritt

Überlassen Sie die Verlängerung Ihrer Marken Klinger & Kollegen als Ihr verlässlicher rechtlicher Vertreter vor den jeweiligen Markenämtern

Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf.
Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.